Live Webinars

Register for a live webinar to learn more about the clinical aspects of home dialysis and economic factors that could impact home dialysis.

Upcoming Clinical Webinars

Urgent-Start PD in the Late Referred ESRD Patient

Urgent-start PD is a safe, effective and viable option for late-referred ESRD patients who need to initiate dialysis. This presentation examines certain issues related to the needs and goals of starting an urgent-start PD program.

Upon completion of this session, you will be able to:

  • Define urgent-start PD
  • Identify appropriate clinical situations where urgent-start PD would be a good choice.
  • Review infrastructure requirements and key elements of a successful urgent-start PD program

Live Webinar Series

Presented by Steven Guest, MD
Director of Medical Consulting Services
US Renal Marketing
Baxter Healthcare Corporation
Deerfield, Illinois

Tuesday, May 22nd, 2018

Register

10:30AM PST, 11:30AM MST, 12:30 PM CST, 1:30 PM EST event duration- 1 hour


Wednesday May 23rd, 2018

Register

9:30 AM PST, 10:30AM MST, 11:30AM CST, 12:30PM EST event duration-1 hour


Wednesday May 23rd, 2018

Register

12:30PM PST, 1:30 PM MST, 2:30 PM CST, 3:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour


Managing PD Catheter Complications: Mechanical Complications of Peritoneal Dialysis

The success of a peritoneal dialysis program depends upon patients maintaining a functional PD access. Mechanical complications are some of the most common reasons for technique failure and patient transfer to hemodialysis. Familiarity with the causes for mechanical complications and proper corrective interventions can help maintain technique survival with PD. This presentation is the first in a 2-part series on Managing PD Catheter Complications. New, exciting features include an interactive digital algorithm for clinical decision-making with respect to mechanical complications, videos, and case study reviews.

Upon completion of this session, you will be able to:

  • List the causes for lower than expected dialysate drain volumes.
  • Systematically assess catheter flow dysfunction to determine most likely cause.
  • Describe diagnostic tools and interventions used to identify and treat catheter flow dysfunction
  • Discuss the evaluation and management of peritoneal boundary defects including:
    • Pericatheter leaks
    • Hernias
    • Pleuroperitoneal fistulae with hydrothorax
  • Detail the management of damage to the external catheter tubing

Live Webinar Series

Presented by John H. Crabtree, MD
Chair, PD University for Surgeons, International Society for Peritoneal Dialysis-North America
Visiting Clinical Faculty, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
Harbor-University of California,
Los Angeles Medical Center, Torrance, CA

Tuesday, June 19th, 2018

Register

11:30 AM PST, 12:30 PM MST, 1:30 PM CST, 2:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour


Wednesday, June 20th, 2018

Register

9:30 AM PST, 10:30 AM MST, 11:30 AM CST, 12:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour


Thursday, June 21st, 2018

Register

10:30 AM PST, 11:30 AM MST, 12:30 PM CST, 1:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour


Managing PD Catheter Complications: Exit-site/Tunnel Infections, Relapsing Peritonitis, and Acute Abdominal Emergencies

Infectious complications are the most common cause of catheter loss resulting in the patient transferring to hemodialysis. This second part of the series on Managing PD Catheter Complications focuses on exit-site/tunnel infections, relapsing peritonitis and acute abdominal emergencies. This presentation includes an interactive digital algorithm, surgical management/treatment options as well as case studies to enhance learning and retention of material.

Upon completion of this session, you will be able to:

  • Evaluate the catheter exit-site/subcutaneous tunnel and diagnose infection
  • Discuss surgical management and treatment options for exit-site and tunnel infections
  • Detail the indications for simultaneous catheter replacement for relapsing peritonitis
  • Recognize acute abdominal emergences that may be initially mistaken for dialysis-related peritonitis

Live Webinar Series

Presented by John H. Crabtree, MD
Chair, PD University for Surgeons, International Society for Peritoneal Dialysis-North America
Visiting Clinical Faculty, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
Harbor-University of California,
Los Angeles Medical Center, Torrance, CA

Tuesday, July 24th, 2018

Register

9:30 AM PST, 10:30 AM MST, 11:30 AM CST, 12:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour


Wednesday, July 25th, 2018

Register

10:30 AM PST, 11:30 AM MST, 12:30 PM CST, 1:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour


Thursday, July 26th, 2018

Register

12:30 PM PST, 1:30 PM MST, 2:30 PM CST, 3:30 PM EST event duration-1 hour